Listen, and Know

Music is truly a human masterpiece
How people can mesh layers
Upon layers
Of notes on a page to create
A work of art is beyond me

I ache for this skill
I can stare at a sheet, read its contents, and translate it into sound
But I haven’t the genius to conjure up
My own notes and lyrics
Upon trying
I doubt my thought-filled attempts
Into nonexistence
Frustratingly awarded with nothing
To be proud of whatsoever

To do is one thing
But to create is something else entirely
And sadly
Writing music doesn’t seem to qualify as
One of my skills
No matter
I do not need to excel at it
To appreciate the feat
I need only listen, and know

 

Original image

Leave a Reply

