Birthday

A single day a year for my life to
Be celebrated.
Cards with
Dinero,
Every one from
Family,
Graciously accepted.
How is this day different from the others?
It isn’t.
Just for me,
Knowing I’m one year older
Leaves a smile on
My face. But
No
One
Perceives the change.
Quickly the day feels like the
Rest.
Sickness from the weekend
Threatens to drag on.
Unknown is my birthday.
Very few wish me a good day, but somehow, I still expect it.
Why do I not tell anyone? Because
(E)xisting is my constant societal shyness, that’s why.
Youthful elation no longer greets me when I wake, but there’s
Zero doubt that I do feel different today.

 

Original image

Leave a Reply

